The Phi Beta Kappa Society 
is the oldest and most respected undergraduate honors  organization in the United States. The Society has pursued its mission of fostering and recognizing excellence in the liberal arts and sciences since 1776.


alumassoc.jpg (4622 bytes)

tampabay.gif (4491 bytes)

delta.jpg (3140 bytes)



 Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of Tampa Bay








gold.jpg (3551 bytes)


2013-14 Officers

Peter A. Pav

First Vice  President
and Programs Chair
Joanne Frazier

Vice  President
  For Membership

Mary Audrey Wilson


Vice  President
  For Membership
Norine Noonan

Mickey Castor

Patricia Rice

Chair for Scholarships
Victoria J. Baker

Chair for Archives
Jan Platt

Catherine Griggs

Past President
Sandra Seckel (2009-2013)

Former Presidents
E. Eddy Burns (2007-2009)
 Jan Platt (2005-2007)
Alvin W. Wolfe (2001-2005)
Lloyd Chapin (1999-2001)

Jan Platt (1997-1999)
Adelaide Few (1995-1997) 

P.O. Box 18543
Tampa. FL  33679-8543


In 1994 a group of PBK.gif (2135 bytes) alumni formed a local association in the Tampa Bay area. Their purpose was to foster scholarship, friendship, cultural interests, and intellectual exchange among members in the region. In 1997 the national organization recognized the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of Tampa Bay, which sponsors a Fall and a Spring meeting for members and their guests.

In 1997 the Association expanded its mission to provide scholarships to two outstanding high school seniors.  Since 1998, scholarships ranging from $1000 to $2500 have been awarded in Hillsborough and Pinellas counties. 

Within our area, Eckerd College, St. Petersburg, FL was awarded the Zeta of Florida chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 2004.

If you are a member of PBK.gif (2135 bytes) and would like information about joining the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of  Tampa Bay, please contact Joanne Frazier. 

For information about the PBK Tampabay Alumni Association, please contact the president Peter Pav.

gold.jpg (3551 bytes)

programs.gif (2620 bytes)

Fall and Spring dinner meetings
for members and their guests

Thursday, November 13 2014

St. Petersburg Yacht Club
11 Central Avenue
St. Petersburg, FL 33701

cash bar mixer 6:00 PM; brief meeting and dinner 7:00 PM

The Very Unserious  World of Crossword Puzzles---100 Years of Fun and Games

Merl Reagle

His puzzles appear in 50 newspapers weekly
He is the only self-syndicated crossword creator in the US
He has appeared as a guest character on TV's "The Simpsons"
His professional motto: Twisted, but fair.
His guiding belief---The English language is the best toy a kid ever had.

   Contact Norine Noonan
for further information or to make a reservation

Previous Dinner Meeting Speakers


gold.jpg (3551 bytes)


Adela Lillolari
Stefan Swaans (Hillsborough)

Previous Scholarship Recipients


scholarships.gif (2862 bytes) 

In 1999, thanks to the generosity of our members, the PBK.gif (2135 bytes) Alumni Association of  Tampa Bay initiated and funded two $1,000 scholarships--one to be awarded to a senior graduating from a Hillsborough county public high school and one to a senior graduating from a Pinellas County high school.  This amount has steadily increased and in 2007, the association was able to award $2,500 per recipient.

Applicants had to have at least a 4.5 weighted or 3.8 unweighted grade point average, combined SAT scores of at least 1400 or an ACT score of at least 30, and a demonstrated record of leadership and service.  Applicants also had to intend to pursue a bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degree with a major in the liberal arts or sciences in a four-year college or university.

The Hillsborough and Pinellas County Education Foundations administer the scholarships in their respective counties, but the PBK.gif (2135 bytes) Alumni Association of Tampa Bay, for whom the scholarships are named, provides the funds and the Scholarship Committee selects the winners.  If you would like to join us in this opportunity to recognize outstanding academic achievement and foster liberal arts education, please contact Victoria Baker

C. Griggs